Stuff I'm getting up to on my year abroad =]

The Last Playdates

The 10th, 11th, and 12th of August. Three days before we had to pack and leave Japan behind. We managed to fit a good amount of Japan things in though!

On the 10th Mitch and I headed to Roppongi Hills for something that actually got me into Japan in the first place; Pokemon! They had set up a cafe at the top of a tall building and it was everything I wanted it to be. A short display of Pokemon art and products, and then wonderfully themed cafe food. Right next to the window, so you could scoff on Pikachu, while admiring the city. Perfect.

We had a bit of a wonder around Roppongi after that; and I think we did a fab job of getting some final Japan injections. We found Godzilla, square watermelons, and some very cool lanterns.

That evening we then trouped on over to Odaiba to meet Marlene and Michael and the Maid cafe boys for dinner. It was short, but good fun. They gave me some manga to take home and they even paid for dinner which was super kind. I wish we’d met them sooner! Marlene stayed over in my room for a slumber party. Gonna miss that human.

The next two days were somewhat more focussed on somewhere closer to home; Kichijouji. I spent the 11th with Karen; we both wanted to see the new Ghibli film, When Marnie Was There. It was fantastic. We got in a kushi-katsu dinner and a good old matcha Starbucks too.

The last of the non-packing days involved mostly cuddling furry things to make us feel better. We went to a cat cafe and then to a pet store to cuddle pooches. It was good to get one last cafe injection before we had to go…

Fluff injection done, the last thing left is to sell everything that’s sellable and pack everything up…. I’ll save that for one last post! Gotta drag it out 😉 See you next time!

Leave a comment

Tag Cloud